top of page
  • Writer's pictureNo Body

Two Hundred Nineteen, Blog

Updated: Feb 20, 2022

There's this actress whom I haven't seen very many of her films yet. Someone did a song about her best attribute. So, when I hear her name a little lyric pops into my head,

'She's got, Bette Davis Eyes.' (a)

As I watch more of her portfolio I discover she is stunningly simple, not overly glamorous, but very talented. She doesn't overshadowed a scene. She is just, subtle. I've yet to find a film the public has rated badly. I can't decide on which movie to recommend. So, let's do an actress recommendation, Bette Davis.

'She's got Bette Davis Eyes.'

There's this one; Now, Voyager, from 1942.

"Oh, Jerry, don't let's ask for the moon. We have the stars." Ms. Vale...

Or this nice little WWII film Watch on the Rhine from 1943. Sorta WWII...

There is Dark Victory from 1939. It's about life on top, with most all of your wants filled. And then you hit a brick wall...

I think I'll select for this week, from what I have seen of her films so far, her best performance; The Catered Affair from 1956. Those taxi medallions, $8000 in the movie. By '62 they were $25k. They peaked in 2013 at $1 million. It's dropped significantly since. It's not really about those taxi medallions, or is it?

"It's a long time we been married." Tom.

"To long? To long a time?" Aggie.

"To know somebody? It's like a day Aggie." Tom.

"Go on, wash your face, we're late." Aggie...

Another of the thousands of stories about the city of New York. A great romance tale...


(a) https://youtu.be/Y0S4m9_qXhI, Kim Carnes, Bette Davis Eyes



Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page