top of page
  • Writer's pictureNo Body

Blog Week 214

Updated: Sep 3, 2021

When I started watching and collecting films I didn't care much about the actors or directors, especially the directors. If it was good, it was good...

Well, since I started this blog I discovered a few directors I enjoy. Martin Ritt being the most recent discovery. He's not won many awards; one Oscar nominee and a Best British Film win. But, his films get better over time. The subject matter and cinematography stand out the more you watch them. He did Sounder (1972) with Cicely Tyson. Sean Connery and Richard Harris were in The Molly Maguires (1970). And he did the 1965 British Film winner The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (week 228) with Richard Burton. He also did three films I really like with Paul Newman, Hombre (1967) and Hud (week 134). And he did this week's film recommendation. Along with Mr. Newman it stars Orson Welles, Joanne Woodward, Lee Remick and a young Angela Lansbury. This little story about an ambitious drifter is called The Long, Hot Summer, 1958.



Recent Posts

See All

CXXXIV

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page