top of page
  • Writer's pictureNo Body

Blog Hebdomadae CCCXXXIII

Updated: Jul 6, 2023


"Well, you all settled in? Right, we can begin." Alfie


The next selected story tells a tale of part of the life of the womanizing Cockney, Alfie Elkins. The egotistical, self-centered, narcissistic (wait, you get the picture. He's a bit obsessed with himself.)... Alfie is played by the legend Micheal Caine(1)...


We also have;

Shelly Winters(2), "She's in lovely condition."

Millicent Martin, "It will go home happy."

Julia Foster, "She'll never make a number one."

Jane Asher, "All it needed was a good wash and a bit care and attention."

And

Vivian Merchant. "Yea, now I look at her, she ain't so ugly after all."


It's not really a comedy (Yes it is!). But, it does have laughs. Bill Naughton wrote the play (1963), then the film (1966) and also the novel (1966). What? No! I did not forget the film's name. I've already told you, Alfie.


"Don't forget your napkin." Siddie.

"Yea, I'm like the boy scouts, I am. Always prepared." Alfie.


"So, what's the answer? That's what I keep askin' me'self. What's it all about? Know what I mean?" Alfie.


(1) Zulu, 1964

(2) The Night of the Hunter, week 285




Recent Posts

See All

...334

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page